Dissertation Committee formation

With the approval of the Department of Computer Science Graduate Committee, the student establishes a Dissertation Committee that consists of four members. If there are co-chairs, the committee will consist of five members. At least two committee members are from the student’s home department. The chair and one additional member must hold a regular graduate faculty appointment in the Department of Computer Science. The committee also will include an external member from outside the department. All committee members must have a Ph.D. in a field relevant to the student's research area. This committee is responsible for administering the prospectus and the dissertation defense of the candidate.