Chemical engineering department issues $38,500 in scholarships to undergraduate students

The Wayne State University Department of Chemical Engineering recently awarded a total of $38,500 in scholarship funds to 25 high-performing undergraduate students for the 2017-18 academic year.

Most of the recipients are upperclassmen, including Benjamin Valley, a fifth-year senior from nearby Shelby Township who, in addition to the financial relief the scholarships provide, noted that they have personal significance as well.

“Receiving the chemical engineering departmental scholarships is important to me because I feel it validates the work and large time commitment that I have devoted to my education,” said Valley, one of eight students to receive the Ralph and Jean Kummler Endowed Scholarship, established by the late former Wayne State Engineering dean and his wife.

Annabelle Chidiac has spent the summer in Flint working as an intern with General Motors. She was excited when her parents told her about a letter in the mail indicating that she received the Ernest B. Drake Endowed Scholarship, named for one of the co-founders of the WSU College of Engineering.

"The College of Engineering has done a wonderful job at merging my education into a future career in industry,” said Chidiac, a Rochester Hills native who transferred to Wayne State in 2015 from Oakland University. “This scholarship is additional encouragement toward the path of academic success and a reminder of the pride associated with being a Wayne State Warrior."

The honor of receiving a scholarship was evident to senior Chloe Luyet, who was awarded the Nick and Christine Andon Scholarship. Luyet, who is from Plymouth and competes on the WSU women’s golf team, noted the high expectations that come with the recognition.

“As a chemical engineering student at Wayne State, our community is very small, very close-knit, and I have gotten to know my classmates well the past two years,” said Luyet. “We are all studious, hardworking, and astute individuals, so to receive this scholarship means a great deal to me, knowing that many of my classmates are deserving of it as well.”

In addition to the subsequent list of recipients, scholarships were awarded to graduate students and students selected to attend the AIChE annual meeting.


Nick and Christine Andon Endowed Scholarship

John Kastler

Jacob Liccardello

Chloe Luyet

Lisa Schalm


Professor Ernest B. Drake Endowed Scholarship

Brian Almeria

Annabelle Chidiac

Henry DeMaria

Dominic Messina

Andrew Miller

Muaadah Naji

Kaitlynn Prieur

Abdul Rihan


Jason Guzik Endowed Memorial Scholarship

Fulton Smith


Ralph and Jean Kummler Endowed Scholarship

Margaret Darrow

Diego Jimenez

Kip Nieman

Laura Paz

Christina Petros

Tal Rosner

Benjamin Valley

Gabriel Yurko


James H. McMicking Endowed Scholarship

Marcus Djokic

Alexandra Gorham

Krishna Patel

Eliot Sobrig


For more information on scholarships and financial aid, visit

Return to news