Engineering Technology professor named ABET commissioner for fourth consecutive year

The Wayne State University Department of Engineering Technology is pleased to announce that Ece Yaprak, professor, has been named a member of the ABET Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission (ETAC) for 2015 – 2016. This will beYaprak’s fourth year as an ABET commissioner. She was nominated by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). 

Founded in 1932, ABET is the leading body for accreditation, quality assurance and advancement of engineering and technology education in the U.S. ETAC specifically assesses and accredits engineering technology programs at the bachelor’s and master’s degree levels. Wayne State’s College of Engineering offers programs that have consistently received ABET accreditation since 1944. 

A dual alumna of Wayne State University, Yaprak earned her M.S. in computer engineering in 1984 and her Ph.D. in computer engineering in 1989. As a professor, she has been honored with the College of Engineering’s Excellence in Teaching Award three times. In 2014, she was appointed director of assessment and accreditation for Wayne State’s College of Engineering. 

Return to news