Michele Grimm earns Fellow status from Biomedical Engineering Society

grimmThe Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) has elected Michele Grimm, associate professor of biomedical engineering at Wayne State University, to the BMES Class of 2018 Fellows, a distinguished group of biomedical engineers who demonstrate exceptional achievements and experience in the field as well as a history of active membership in the Society.

The Class of 2018 joins 144 other BMES Fellows who have been recognized for their outstanding work and leadership. They will be celebrated in October during the BMES Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia.

“I am honored to be recognized by my peers in biomedical engineering in this way.  I have been a member of BMES since I was an undergraduate student and I appreciate the opportunities that the organization provides for professional development for engineers at all levels—from student member to fellow,” said Grimm, who earlier this year was also elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) College of Fellows.

A faculty member at Wayne State since 1994 after earning her Ph.D. in bioengineering from the University of Pennsylvania, Grimm is an expert in the biomechanics of neonatal injury as well as tissue characterization using ultrasound.

Grimm’s contributions to Wayne State University include serving as associate dean for academic affairs in the College of Engineering from 2003 through 2010, establishing an ABET accredited undergraduate program in biomedical engineering and working with the Office of the Provost to launch the Transfer Student Success Center in 2013. She has also been a faculty advisor for various student organizations, including the WSU Formula SAE team.

Grimm was named to the ABET Engineering Accreditation Commission in 2015, and accepted a two-year appointment as program director for biomedical engineering in the Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental and Transport Systems division of the National Science Foundation in Washington, D.C. in 2016.


Return to news