Rhongho Jang

Rhongho Jang

Assistant Professor, Computer Science

< View all profiles

Rhongho Jang


Rhongho Jang is an assistant professor in the department of computer science at Wayne State University. He received his Ph.D. in the department of computer science at the University of Central Florida, in 2020. He also received his B.S., M.E, and Ph.D. (first) from the Inha University of South Korea in 2013, 2015, and 2020, respectively. To date, he published as a lead author several peer-reviewed research papers, including papers in top-tier conferences and premier journals, such as IEEE ICDCS, IEEE INFOCOM, and IEEE TMC, etc. He won the Best-in-session Presentation Award (SDN II) at IEEE INFOCOM (2017), the Outstanding Young Researcher Award from the KISA (2018). As public services, he served as a web chair in ACM CoNEXT 2019, a reviewer in IEEE TMC, IEEE TNSM, IEEE ToN, and ETRI Journal.


Ph.D. 2020, University of Central Florida (Computer Science)

Ph.D. 2020, Inha Univeristy (Computer Science and  Enginnering)

Courses Taught

Fall 2020, CSC 5290 - Cyber Security Practice

Winter 2021, CSC 5991 - ST: Network Programmability and Applications [PDF]

Research Interests

Security & Privacy, Network Measurement, Software-defined Networking, Counting Algorithm, Applied Machine Learning


  • Soteria: Detecting Adversarial Examples in Control Flow Graph-based Malware Classifiers [ICDCS 2020]
  • SketchFlow: Per-Flow Systematic Sampling Using Sketch Saturation Event [INFOCOM 2020]
  • DFD: Adversarial Learning-based Approach to Defend Against Website Fingerprinting [INFOCOM 2020]
  • Rogue Access Point Detection Using Intentional Channel Interference [IEEE TMC, 2019]
  • Instant Per-flow Detection Using Large In-DRAM Working Set of Active Flows [ICDCS 2019]
  • Rogue Access Point Detector Using Characteristics of Channel Overlapping in 802.11n [ICDCS 2017]
  • RFlow+: An SDN-based WLAN monitoring and management framework [INFOCOM 2017]

Awards and Honors

2017 Best-In-Session Presentation Award (SDN II), INFOCOM
2018 Outstanding Young Researcher Award, KISA