Yaprak honored by IEEE with Meritorious Achievement Award in Accreditation Activities

Ece YaprakThe IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) announced that Ece Yaprak, professor and chair of the Engineering Technology Division in the Wayne State University College of Engineering, has been selected to receive the 2022 Meritorious Achievement Award in Accreditation Activities.

Yaprak is being acknowledged “for sustained contributions to IEEE and ABET accreditation activities in Engineering Technology programs.” She will be presented with the award during the IEEE Board Series Meeting on Nov. 18 in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

She has been involved with ABET Accreditation in various capacities since 2002 and currently holds the positions of ABET Board of Delegates representative and ABET Engineering Technology area delegate. Yaprak has been a program evaluator, assessing electrical and computer engineering technology programs in the U.S. and internationally. From 2006-12 she served on the IEEE Committee on Engineering Technology Accreditation Activities as chair (2010-12), vice chair (2008-10) and committee member (2006-08 and 2017-present). Yaprak is a former ABET IEEE/ETAC commissioner, occupying that role from 2012-17.

Yaprak was also the director of assessment and accreditation for the WSU College of Engineering in 2014.

Established in 1984 by the EAB, the Meritorious Achievement Award in Accreditation Activities is given to IEEE members who have contributed to the maintenance and improvement of education through the process of accreditation of engineering, engineering technology, computer science and applied science programs.


← Back to listing