"Leadership and learning are indispensable to each other." — John F. Kennedy

The College of Engineering is fortunate to have among its world-renowned faculty a group of leaders committed to fulfilling the mission and vision of the college. Dean Ali Abolmaali and the college's associate deans work tirelessly to ensure that we are delivering the highest quality outcomes in education and research.


Ali Abolmaali
Dean, College of Engineering

Dean's Office staff

Beth Charnock
Assistant to the Associate Dean
Angela Childrey
Sr. Grant/Contract Administrator, Research Support Team
Meghan Connolly
Lead Grant/Contract Administrator
Tom Gorman
Associate Director of Marketing and Communications
Sarah Murrell
Manager, Business Operations
Kelly Plummer-Sherrard
Executive Assistant to the Dean of the College of Engineering
Casey Rue
Incoming Student/EOS Program Advisor
Rochelle Smith
Sr. Grant/Contract Administrator
Kris Theisen
Senior Director of Development
Karen Wilson
Sr. Associate Director, Administration

Associate Dean

Charles Manke
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs; Professor, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Leslie Monplaisir
Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs; Professor, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Department Chair

Cynthia Bir
Professor and Chair, Biomedical Engineering
Nabil Chalhoub
DeVlieg Professor and Chair, Mechanical Engineering
Ratna Chinnam
Professor, Chair, and Founding Director, Industrial and Systems Engineering
Nathan Fisher
Professor and Interim Chair, Computer Science
Mohammed Ismail
Chair and Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Jeffrey Potoff
Chair and Professor, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
William Shuster
Professor and Chair, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Ece Yaprak
Professor and Division Chair, Engineering Technology