To reduce the nation's dependence on imported fossil energy as well as the environmental impact of petroleum-based fuel systems, there is an urgent need to electrify a significant proportion of our vehicles. In 2010, Wayne State became the first university to launch a comprehensive electric-drive vehicle engineering curriculum. Thanks in part to a $5 million investment by the U.S. Department of Energy, and surrounded by automotive manufacturers and suppliers, Wayne State students gain the tools and knowledge to become the next generation of automotive masterminds.

At Wayne State's College of Engineering, you'll learn from nationally renowned faculty experts and benefit from our High Impact Practices of Student Success: team-based learning, global perspective, undergraduate research, internships and co-ops, and community service.



Only institution in Michigan competing in EcoCAR3


Jerry Ku

More than $5 million in funding for alternative energy research and curriculum development. Leader of the WSU student EcoCAR team and the electric-drive vehicle engineering graduate program. Winner of four major awards for teaching and research.

Jerry Ku