Advising

Advisors in the College of Engineering are available to help guide students through a successful academic experience. Students and advisors work together to set goals, develop academic plans, and process registration and other administrative tasks. Moreover, advisors provide encouragement and support as well as an outlet to discuss career aspirations, address concerns, and ask important questions.

Students are assigned to an academic advisor based on their major or area of interest. It is recommended that students declare a major as early as possible and meet with their designated advisor on a regular basis. Current or admitted students can schedule appointments with their advisor at stars.wayne.edu.

Graduate program coordinators can answer questions about admissions requirements or the graduate program application process.


Undergraduate advisors

Department Undergraduate faculty advisor
Biomedical Engineering

Namrata Murthy
nmurthy@wayne.edu

Chemical Engineering

Tracy Fahl Castle
tfcastle@wayne.edu

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Elizabeth Hill
ekondrat@wayne.edu

Computer Science

Colleen McKenney
fg8527@wayne.edu

Computer Science

Stephanie Chastain
schastain@wayne.edu

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Emily Reetz
ereetz@wayne.edu

Engineering Bridge Program

Richard Casey Rue
dx5983@wayne.edu

Engineering Technology

Joyce P. Lien
joycelien@wayne.edu

Industrial & Systems Engineering and Information Technology (IT)

Gail Evans
gevans@eng.wayne.edu

Mechanical Engineering

Keith Wadley
keith.wadley@wayne.edu

Graduate advisors

Department Graduate faculty advisor
Alternative Energy Technology (MS) Gene Liao
geneliao@wayne.edu
Biomedical Engineering (MS and Ph.D.) Mai Lam
fl8539@wayne.edu
Chemical Engineering (MS and Ph.D.) Carolyn Harris
aq4515@wayne.edu
Civil Engineering (MS and Ph.D.) Shawn McElmurry
s.mcelmurry@wayne.edu
Computer Engineering (MS and Ph.D.) Ivan Avrutsky
avrutsky@wayne.edu
Computer Science (MS and Ph.D.) Robert Reynolds
aa0057@wayne.edu
Data Science & Business Analytics (MS) Ratna Babu Chinnam
ratna.chinnam@wayne.edu
Electrical Engineering (MS and Ph.D.) Ivan Avrutsky
avrutsky@wayne.edu
Electric-drive Vehicle Engineering (MS) Gene Liao
geneliao@wayne.edu
Engineering Management (MS) Ken Chelst
kchelst@wayne.edu
Engineering Technology (MS) Ece Yaprak
ab2544@wayne.edu
Environmental and Sustainability Engineering (MS) Bill Shuster
wshuster@wayne.edu
Global Executive Track (GET) (Ph.D.) Ratna Babu Chinnam
ratna.chinnam@wayne.edu
Industrial and Systems Engineering (Ph.D.) Qingyu Yang
ek8363@wayne.edu
Industrial Engineering (MS) Jeremy Rickli
jlrickli@wayne.edu
Manufacturing Engineering (MS) Jeremy Rickli
jlrickli@wayne.edu
Materials Science (MS and Ph.D.) Carolyn Harris
aq4515@wayne.edu
Mechanical Engineering (MS) Leela Arava
fl8799@wayne.edu
Professional Engineering Management Master's Program (EMMP) (MS) Ken Chelst
kchelst@wayne.edu
Robotics (MS) Ece Yaprak
ab2544@wayne.edu

Graduate program coordinators

Graduate program coordinators can answer questions about admissions requirements or the graduate program application process.

Coordinator Programs
Rob Carlson
rcarlson@wayne.edu

Alternative Energy Technology
- Grad Certificate in AET
- MS in AET

Biomedical Engineering
- MS and Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering

Chemical Engineering and Material Sciences
- MS and Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering
- MS and Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering

Civil and Environmental Engineering
- MS and Ph.D. in Civil Engineering
- MS in Environmental and Sustainability Engineering

Cyber-Physical Systems
- Grad Certificate in Cyber-physical Systems

Data Science and Business Analytics
- MS in Data Science and Business Analytics
- Advanced Analytics and Data Computing

Electric-Drive Vehicle Engineering
- Grad Certificate in EVE
- MS in EVE

Engineering Technology
- MS in Engineering Technology

Mechanical Engineering
- MS and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering

Robotics
-
MS in Robotics: Industrial Automation;
Intelligent Control; Smart Mobility

Beth Madigan
bethmadigan@wayne.edu

Computer Science
- M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Science

Electrical and Computer Engineering
- M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Engineering
- M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering

  Industrial and Systems Engineering
- MS in Engineering Management
- M.S. in Manufacturing Engineering
- M.S. in Industrial Engineering