WSU scholarship opportunities

  • Graduate School Master's scholarships- The Graduate School offers several scholarship opportunities and awards specifically for master's students. See the link for AGRADE Scholarship, the Graduate School Retention Scholarship, Completion Scholarship, Dean's Merit Scholarship and Workforce Development Scholarship. The Heberlein Teaching Award is also open to master's students who have teaching responsibilities at the university.
  • Graduate Professional Scholarship – The Graduate School annually sponsors the Graduate Professional Scholarship competition for tuition scholarship awards for fall and winter semesters. To be eligible for consideration for the award, applicants must be admitted to a graduate program by May 1. 
  • Hank and Joy Kuchta Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Endowed Ph.D. Scholarship- Established in 2017, the Hank and Joy Kuchta Endowed Scholarship recognizes scholastic achievement, encourages continued progress, and provides assistance to Wayne State University students in financing their doctoral education in chemical engineering and materials science.
  • Heberlein Teaching Award - These awards, established by contributions from the former Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School, Gary Heberlein, recognize Wayne State graduate students for demonstrating instructional excellence. The awards are designed, in part, to elevate the attention given to teaching as part of graduate education and the preparation of graduate students to serve as college and university faculty. The awards include an honorarium and a citation that will be presented at the Academic Recognition Ceremony.
  • Scholarships for International Students - from the Office of International Students and Scholars (OISS)